10 September 2009



The National Pan-Hellenic Council was established in an age when racial segregation and disenfranchisement plagued African Americans, the rise of each of the black fraternities and sororities that make up the NPHC bore witness to the fact that despite hardships African Americans refused to accede to a status of inferiority.

The organization's stated purpose and mission in 1930:

Unanimity of thought and action as far as possible in the conduct of Greek letter collegiate fraternities and sororities, and to consider problems of mutual interest to its member organizations.

The chair of the committee for the National Pan-Hellenic Council was the 13th Grand Basileus of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity Inc. Matthew W. Bullock. The founding members of the NPHC were Omega Psi Phi, Kappa Alpha Psi, Alpha Kappa Alpha, Delta Sigma Theta, and Zeta Phi Beta. The council's membership expanded as Alpha Phi Alpha (1931), Phi Beta Sigma (1931), Sigma Gamma Rho (1937), and Iota Phi Theta (1997) joined this coalition of Black Greek letter organizations (BGLOs). In his book on BGLOs, Lawrence Ross coined the phrase "The Divine Nine" when referring to the coalition.

In 1992, the first permanent national office for NPHC was established in Bloomington, Indiana on the campus of Indiana University through the joint cooperation of Indiana University and the National Board of Directors of NPHC.


Omega Psi Phi HQ: Decatur, GA NPHC: 1930
Delta Sigma Theta HQ: Wash, D.C. NPHC: 1930
Kappa Alpha Psi HQ: Philly, PA NPHC: 1930
Alpha Kappa Alpha HQ: Chicago, IL NPHC: 1930
Zeta Phi Beta HQ: Wash, D.C. NPHC: 1930
Alpha Phi Alpha HQ: Baltimore, MY NPHC: 1931
Phi Beta Sigma HQ: Wash, D.C. NPHC: 1931
Sigma Gamma Rho HQ: Cary, NC NPHC: 1937
Iota Phi Theta HQ: Baltimore, MY NPHC: 1997

Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc. 1906-12-4 Cornell Univ
Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc. 1908-1-15 Howard Univ
Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity Inc. 1911-1-5 Indiana Univ
Omega Psi Phi Fraternity Inc. 1911-11-17 Howard Univ
Delta Sigma Theta Sorority Inc. 1913-1-13 Howard Univ
Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity Inc. 1914-01-09 Howard Univ
Zeta Phi Beta Sorority Inc. 1920-01-16 Howard Univ
Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority Inc. 1922-11-12 Butler Univ
Iota Phi Theta Fraternity Inc. 1963-9-19 Morgan State Univ

AΦA Keon, Mounticure, Kellman

AKA Leelay, Rina, Edidiong, Hannah, Erin

KAΨ Mills, Honeywell, Kevin, Bryce, Aaron, Willie

ΩΨΦ Sleepy, Bates, Zed, Patterson, Omari, B Free, Crafton, Feezy, Jason, C Scott, Moye, Wootang, Royle, Billy, Nate, Up Psi, Phonzo, Byron, Freddy T, Garin, Drake, Perez, Tarik, Rico, Yacoob, Rondez, Rodney, Kamau, Steel, Steeldog, Jelani, Ryan, Qcity, Chad, Chi Theta Steve, Walt, Chaka, El Bunzy, Meeks, Meekins, Doc, Ruiz-Calderon

ΔΣΘ Ruby, Shaní, Lamonica, Irene, Morgan, Gillum, Bercy, Cecile, Finney, Landrum, Crawford, Taiquay, Gloria

ΦBΣ Justin, Xavier, Paul, Hans, Keith

ZΦB Cicely

ΣΓP Asha, Alexis, Kesia, Dantica

IΦΘ Sensei D, Tyrus



No comments:

Post a Comment

Cyrah Hawkins's Fan Box